Book Binding and Paper Conservation

I am starting this blog to record my projects and progress on the road towards becoming a book/paper conservator. I have accomplished so many things before now that I would love to include, but hey, you have to start somewhere.

Right now I work for the Charleston Library Society as an assistant book binder. The job is a dream come true and applies to conservation in a lot of ways. The best part is that the Library Society has paid for paper conservation training with Etherington Conservation. I will have more info on that in a future post. After the class I was determined to begin preparing (again) for a graduate degree in conservation. I will be enrolling in chemistry and studio art classes as well as studying for the GRE examination. It is a colossal task and I am simultaneously brimming with excitement and doubt.

This is what I want to do with my life and today is just one step of many towards achieving that goal.

Leave a Reply

